Search Results

Becoming a tattoo artist in a tattoo parlor can be a very rewarding career choice. You get to help people express themselves while being creative. Participating in a one to two-year apprenticeship with this will give you the chance to develop your tattooing skills and have a better understanding of what it takes to run a tattoo shop. Without laws to protect both sides, transmissions of diseases such as hepatitis are possible.

Tattoo business owners must be certain to research the regulations that govern tattooing in their locality. You can proceed with opening your own business when you understand the state laws.

1. California

California began legislation of the tattoo industry in 1997, it has very specific rules for tattoo artists and parlors. For example, tattooing a minor is strictly prohibited, even if the minor has parental consent.

a. Prepare your tattoo parlor for a health and safety inspection done by the California State Department of Health Services.

All of your equipment and areas where tattooing takes place need to be completely sterile. Each tattoo station is required to have a hand sink with that is possible to operate with an artist's knee or wrist. This requires a separate room in the tattoo shop for equipment, such as an ultrasonic and autoclave to carry out this process.

b. You need to register yourself and your tattoo artists with the county health department in the county of California where your tattoo parlor is located.

c. Contact the California State Department of Health Services to schedule an inspection of your tattoo parlor.

You'll need to provide details about your businesses products, services, location and owners, as well as proof that you passed the inspection.

2. Illinois

Until 2009, tattoo artists in the state of Illinois were not required to have any kind of permit or license to operate--tattoo establishments weren't even subjected to routine inspections. These days, tattoo shops are inspected yearly, and all tattoo artists will need to follow newly established guidelines, including obtaining a license.

a. You need to take the tattoo artist license test. Every artist in a tattoo shop must have a license, and copies of these licenses must be displayed in a prominent and conspicuous area of the shop.

In order to get licensed, artists must pass an exam covering anatomy, infectious disease control, waste disposal, hand-washing techniques, equipment sterilization, skin diseases, blood borne pathogens and disorders and conditions.

Pay the initial license fee of $200. Keep your license current by paying the $20 renewal fee before Dec. 31 of each year.

b. A tattoo shop in Illinois must obtain a Certificate of Registration with the Department of Public Health.

This application requires information of the owner's name, address, telephone number and age.

This registration makes the owner subject to regular and unannounced inspections by the health department.

Prepare your tattoo establishment for yearly inspections by the Department of Professional Regulation by ensuring that you're following their hygiene, sterilization and sanitation rules.

c. Illinois has strict laws regarding the tattooing of persons under 18 years of age. If a minor is tattooed, the parents also have to sign a form giving permission to tattoo their child.

There will be a fine, if it happens. If it happens repeatedly, then the artist can lose his or her license, and the shop can be closed.

3. Arizona

a. Determine a name for your tattoo shop and then check with the Arizona Corporations Commission to make sure that the name you choose fits their naming policy standards and is not already in use (see the Resources link below).

b. Apply for an Employer Identification Number (EIN) through the Internal Revenue Service.

c. Arizona state law does not require you to have a license to perform tattoos, but the state will require you to meet these regulations, such as not providing tattoos to individuals between the ages of 14 and 18 without a parental guardian present.

4. Texas

Texas requires that all tattoo studios register with the Department of State Health Services, or DSHS (Department of Social and Health Services), prior to operation. If you intend to offer other services, such as body piercing, you must apply for additional licensing to offer those services.

a. Visit the DSHS website to complete an online license application. You can pay the $928 license fee, with a credit card or electronic check. Print a copy of the receipt when you submit the application.

b. Create a written document for tattoo services, as well as a parental consent agreement for minors.

And the Department of State Health Services requires that all licensed tattoo studios provide oral and written instructions on how to care for a newly applied tattoo.

c. Select a location equipped with clearly defined spaces for sterilization, tattoo services and additional services.

The DSHS requires that these areas remain separate to prevent cross-contamination and transfer of disease-causing organisms, and these areas must be easy to clean.

d. Schedule an on-site inspection with the Drugs and Medical Devices Group (DMDG), prior to opening. After the initial inspection, the DMDG retains the right to perform random inspections to ensure all licensed tattoo studios comply with the licensing rules.

5. Florida

a. Throughout the country, no minors may receive tattoos without the written, consent of a parent or legal guardian.

b. All tattoo artists must enlist the general supervision of a physician, osteopathic physician or dentist. The supervisor must consult with each tattoo artists when they first start operating, and after a half-year, as to techniques, equipment and sterilization procedures used by the artists.

c. All tattoo artists must have at their disposal written documents outlining prohibited medical conditions for individuals to receive tattoos. They must be displayed prominently within the tattoo parlor and handed to each person receiving a tattoo.

d. Failure to comply with any or all of these regulations will be regarded as a class two misdemeanor.

Owning a tattoo business can be an interesting and profitable venture. Tattoo artists can often enjoy a flexible schedule and a casual work atmosphere.

However, in every case, safety and sanitation must be at the forefront of the business owner's mind in everything that she does.